Lady Fox Young

Cabinet portrait.
The mount bears the Anson Bros. Hobart studio stamp, dating it to late 1880s.
Lady Fox Young was the wife of Sir Henry E. Fox Young who was Governor-in-Chief of Tasmania from 1855 to 1861, and one-time Governor of South Australia.

From © The Private Collection of John and Robyn McCullagh 2005-2010 ARR.

ANSON, Joshua at H.H.BAILY, 1872-1877.
ANSON Bros; 132 Liverpool St. 1878-1880;
36 Elizabeth St. 1880-1887;
52 Elizabeth St. 1887-9;
129 Elizabeth St.1894-95.

This portrait of Lady Fox Young – which is signed by her with the inscription – “With Kind Regards, Mrs Fox Young” – was taken in the late 1880s, long after her husband’s tenure as Governor of Tasmania terminated, but whether that meant she had to lose the title of “Lady” and revert to “Mrs” is a matter of debate for those into protocol.

An identical portrait is held at the State Library of Tasmania, and signed with the date “1888”:

Title: Lady Augusta Sophia Fox Young
Creator(s):Anson Bros
Date: 1896
Description: 1 photograph : sepia toning ; 15 x 10 cm.
Notes: Exact measurements: 144 X 99 mm., “With Lady Fox Young’s kind regards, 24th April 1888”-inscribed in ink in centre below image., In formal dress seated at a small table.
Subjects:Young, Augusta Sophia – Lady – -1914
Young, H. E. F. – (Henry Edward Fox) – Sir – 1803-1870 – Family
Governors’ spouses – Tasmania
Women – Costume – History – 19th century
Format: photograph
Location: Allport Library and Museum of Fine Arts
ADRI: AUTAS001126182047



Source: Tasmanian Parliamentary Library

DENISON, Sir William T. Lt-Gov Kt 25 Jan 1847-8 Jan 1855
FOX-YOUNG, Sir Henry E. Governor-in-Chief CB 8 Jan 1855-10 Dec 1861
GORE BROWNE, Thomas Governor CB, Colonel 10 Dec 1861-30 Dec 1868
TREVOR, William C. Administrator 30 Dec 1868-15 Jan 1869
DU CANE, Charles Governor 15 Jan 1869-28 Nov 1874
SMITH, Sir Francis Administrator Kt 28 Nov 1874-13 Jan 1875
WELD, Frederick A. Governor CMG 13 Jan 1875-5 Apr 1880
SMITH, Sir Francis Administrator Kt 5 Apr 1880-21 Oct 1880
LEFROY, Sir Henry Administrator KCMG, CB 21 Oct 1880-7 Dec 1881
STRAHAN, Sir George C. Governor Major, KCMG 7 Dec 1881-28 Oct 1886
GIBLIN, William R. Administrator 28 Oct 1886-18 Nov 1886
DOBSON, Sir William L. Administrator Kt 18 Nov 1886-11 Mar 1887